The Four Worlds International Institute

Wisdom of Crowds: The Truth About Content-Driven Collaborative Learning - Wed. Jan 11, 2012

This webinar shows at 1:00 Pacific/2:00 Mountain/3:00 Central/4:00 Eastern. For other times, please visit World Clock

Learn more

The Wisdom of Crowds: Why the Many Are Smarter Than the Few sends educators a critical message that individuals can no longer independently learn all they need to know. In a globally connected world, there is enormous value in using online tools to collaboratively connect and learn with others.


Join award-winning online learning pioneer, Dr. Yvonne Marie Andres, as she discusses how to successfully integrate project-based, collaborative learning by showcasing the best content, tools, and resources that support teachers and students as they strive to master 21st century learning skills. This webinar will help educational leaders understand that while mass collaboration has many benefits, without some structure it can lead to chaos and frustration. Youth need to learn collaborative, 21st century learning skills, through safe, structured, supervised, educational projects. Teachers need guidance in transitioning from traditional learning to new learning tools and experiences (e.g. Flexbooks, blended learning environments, collaborative projects, co-created content, global exhibitions and competitions, and virtual field trips). Move to the next level of online use the collaborations, people connections, and social interactions become as important as the information resources.

Audience: Educators, Administrators, Tech Directors
Audience Level 2: Intermediate

Authors/Contributors:
  • Name: Dr. Yvonne Marie Andres
  • Bio: Dr. Yvonne Marie Andres is Global SchoolNet's executive director, co-founder and visionary. A former classroom teacher and educator for two decades, Andres has taught pre-school through university and is passionate about demonstrating the power of Internet-based collaborative learning. Ms. Andres has been a champion of telecollaboration since 1984. She is co-creator of the Global Schoolhouse and producer of International Schools CyberFair and the US State Department’s Doors to Diplomacy program. She provides leadership at conferences and workshops throughout the U.S., Canada, Asia, Europe, Australia, South America and Africa. Ms. Andres was named one of the 25 most influential people worldwide in education technology and was invited to meet with President Bush to launch the Friendship Through Education initiative.

Views: 26

Guiding Principles

Starting From Within, Working in a Circle, in a Sacred Manner, We Heal and Develop Ourselves, Our Relationships, and the World.

Events

Order Online

© 2021   Created by Phil Lane Jr..   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service